After watching videos like this I must admit I miss being an innocent blissful little child who would eat gummy bears and other sweets without a care in the world. A few years ago I became vegetarian but I do remember eating the odd jelly based sweet here and there and people would say to me that it is made from gelatin, but this alone was not enough to stop me from eating it.

However thanks to Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens that has all changed now. In the horrifying short film you are about to watch shows in reverse how gummy candy is made and when you see that the gelatin in the candy is literally taken off of the skin of pigs I can assure it will make think you twice before eating these sweets again.

For those of you that have been put gelatin based sweets for good there are vegan gelatin substitutes that some candies are made with, like agar, one of the most popular substitutes for gelatin that is obtained from algae.

The filmmaker Kneepkens states on her website regarding the grim yet eye-opening video series that “‘Jelly’ is candy. But only few people know they’re made of gelatin from the skin of pigs. Sweet?” So please share this article to everyone you know, especially your vegan or vegetarian friends so that they too can be informed.

Watch Video:

Source: Educateinspirechange